MICHAEL Prize – Award Winner 2021

The Michael Prize 2021

The 2021 Michael Prize was awarded to


University Hospital Erlangen
Dept. of Neuropathology

Erlangen (Germany)


PD Dr. Katja Kobow


Katja Kobow is Assistant Professor in Molecular Neuropathology at the University Hospital Erlangen, Germany. Katja Kobow is an excellent researcher, who significantly contributed to the field of molecular neuropathology of epilepsy, studying DNA methylation in human brain tissue obtained from epilepsy surgery. Katja Kobow already became one of the leading researchers in the field of epigenetics in epilepsy at a relatively young age. Beyond this specific research focus she is also founding member of the Young Epilepsy Section of the ILAE (YES), as well as an invited member in ILAE task forces and commissions.

Katja Kobow has submitted three excellent and highly relevant publications which provide evidence for epigenetic changes as molecular pathomechanism in epilepsy and for disease‐specific methylation signatures of human epileptogenic brain lesions. In particular, her recent studies support an integrated molecular-genetic and histological disease classification of cortical malformations including Focal Cortical Dysplasia and Polymicrogyria. Her relevant and innovative line of research applied to neuropathology of epilepsy paves the way for future developments in diagnostic and therapeutic approaches in epilepsy.


Award Symposium MICHAEL PRIZE LECTURE Katja Kobow

Chair: Bettina Schmitz

The Lecture was given at the ILEA-IBE International Epilepsy Congress on August 29, 2021.

This video is HD quality. For a better view (e.g. to display the PowerPoint slides) please use the full-screen button on the player.

Michael Prize Award Winner 2021
PD Dr. Katja Kobow
Award winner Katja Kobow with certificate in Bonn, Germany
Award winner certificate presented by Mrs. Bühler, daughter of the founder of the Michael Foundation