Awarded for the first time in 1963 to encourage epilepsy research in Germany, today the MICHAEL-PRIZE is one of the most highly regarded international awards for the best contributions to clinical and experimental research which promote further developments in epileptology.

Since 2006 the MICHAEL-PRIZE is kindly sponsored by UCB Pharma S.A..


The MICHAEL-PRIZE is awarded biennially and is specifically addressed to younger researchers
who have not yet reached the age of 45. The prize money is 20.000,- Euro.

The MICHAEL-PRIZE will be awarded for research in one of the following fields:

  • Psychiatry, Psychology, Neuropsychology
  • Pharmacology
  • Neuropathology

The applications submitted will be rated by an independent jury consisting of:

Eleonora Aronica, Amsterdam
Yushi Inoue, Shizuoka
Jean Gotman, Montreal

The final decision will be taken by the Board of Trustees of the Michael Foundation; legal recourse is excluded.